Mama Needs A Makeover (and a Martini). And Enter to Win A Makeover Package from Ihloff Salon and Day Spa!

So my 7 year-old Nicholas drew a picture of us the other day.  I commented on how I liked the brown hat he drew on my head.

 “That’s not a hat mommy,that’s your hair!   The top half  is brown, and the bottom part is yellow!”

 Wow.  Nothing like a little reality check from a first grader.

 I don’t know about the rest of ya’ll, but if I can get at least one body part clean in a day (hair washing and leg shaving is a bonus) – it’s a red banner day in my book. 

 Needless to say – keeping up with hair, makeup and other luxuries such as a razor or nail polish – isn’t on my radar.

 Until now. 

 So I enlisted the help of my dear friends at the amazing Ihloff Salon and Day Spa in Tulsa.  They were only too excited to help a sister out.  (Until Randi saw my roots.  I don’t think she really believed I was in dire straits until then).

Randi is amazing. She's lightening my hair and adding some vertical layers to give my hair volume and make it easier to style.

 Randi says the trend in hair this spring is longer layers and a more “bohemian” look than the polished looks of last year.  The look is super easy – she just used a large barrel curling iron and slightly curled my hair in big chunks.  It took five minutes. 

I now have a fresh updated look for spring – YAY! And it’s dummy proof for moms like me.   So I want to share my good fortune.

Brandi's teaching me some easy tips for makeup. I love the new spring colors!

 According to Brandi from Ihloff, makeup trends are keeping your look natural, with using a pop of color either on lips or eyes.  For daytime, she’s giving me a day smoky eye, using nuetral colors, but a teal eyeshadow as an eyeliner which makes eyes pop.  For nighttime, she suggests a bright lip – coral is the big color this spring. 

Ihloff is donating a haircut/style AND a make-up application (plus the spring line of Aveda makeup!) .  This is valued at over $300 – and it includes their newest product – Aveda Lash Abundance Boosting Serum which gives you thicker, fuller, longer-looking lashes in just 8 weeks-and is gentle enough for everyday use.

 You can watch these awesome ladies in action right here on my Mommy Moment on Fox23 this morning. 

 All you have to do to enter is comment on my blog and we’ll pick a winner on Monday, March 5th!

I had to celebrate my look with a Girls Night Out of course....

 And next time my son draws my hair like that…he’s grounded.

45 thoughts on “Mama Needs A Makeover (and a Martini). And Enter to Win A Makeover Package from Ihloff Salon and Day Spa!

  1. So funny, as usual, kids tell it like it is, don’t they?
    Anyway, you look awesome! Everyone needs a little love from their favorite stylist now and then!

  2. You look fabulous! And when our kiddos come up with comments like that; makes us wonder if we really should be drilling “Never tell a lie” into their sweet, honest, little heads!!!!!! 🙂

  3. Too funny, sweetie! Love your blog…and I thought my life was hectic. (Now if only I could keep my husband’s car in park…hmmm)
    😉
    Wendy

  4. Used to go to the Ihloff Salon when we lived in Tulsa. Good to see they still do an amazing job. Your blog and comments on FB keep me laughing. Some days I feel like we are living the same “mom” life minus two kids for me! Great segment!

    Kim

  5. Sounds fabulous as I moved to Tulsa over a year ago and have not found a stylist. Sign me up!

    Thanks,

    Derinda Graves

    • Hi Derinda! Welcome to Tulsa! And I’ve tried several stylists in Tulsa – and Randi is my favorite. She does an amazing job. Plus she is a sweetheart! Thanks for reading and I’ve got your name in the drawing!

  6. Your story is delightful. Out of the mouths of babes come the most humiliating, yet inspirational, things. I love the idea of an Ihloff makeover. What could be more uplifting and rewarding and worthy of a great Girls Night Out?

  7. Love it Marnie and totally relate!! I have been rocking 80s hairband hair these days … fried and frizzy! Rock on!!! Trying to pretend THAT’S a deliberate style decision! 😉

  8. Out of the mouths of babes…so funny!! Ihloff to the rescue!! Hope all you’re hearing now is “Mommy, you look so pretty”. Everyone should have a treat from Ihloff, especially for spring.

  9. Awesome new look 🙂 I’m currently pregnant with my first, so while my life is definitely not as crazy as yours (yet, anyway!) I can SO relate to barely having time to get a body part clean (of course, that’s because I’m just too exhausted-ha!) much less get my hair done. Your blog is inspirational for me-I’m looking to other moms and thinking, ok I hope I can do this half as well as they can!

  10. I am so happy for you that you are taking time for yourself! Nothing like new hair and makeup to put a spring in you step =)

  11. I know what you mean sister! Between work, teaching and taking classes I’ve been sporting this ponytail like it’s the newest trend!

  12. You look awesome! I loved watching your look on FOX23 with Michelle. The curling iron, instead of the round brush, is a great idea! I love the teal eyeshadow and coral lipstick, too!

  13. You look beautiful Marnie! Love Brandi – she is so sweet. Now if you can just find the time for “maintenance.” Good luck!

    • Hi Lydia! ANd yes – I totally remember that – I thought I was going to go bald. But thank goodness it comes back. 🙂 Thanks for reading and I’ve got your name in the drawing to help you fix your hair! 🙂

Leave a Reply

