The Rice Crispie Treat Massacre (And Fresh Produce Giveaway from Harvest Crate!)

Seriously people, it’s Rice Crispie Treats.  In fact – here is the freaking photo of the cute little turkeys that were supposed to be so dang simple to make.

So this is what they are SUPPOSED to look like.

This year for Thanksgiving, my family( knowing me well), assigned me to bring dessert for the kids.  Forget the gravy, stuffing or mashed potatoes, they know I would crumble under the pressure (or send them to the ER with food poisoning). 

So I saw this darling lil picture in Better Homes and Gardens of rice crispie treat turkeys.  I mean really.  Look at the photo?  Simple to make, smiling happy people and cute little turkeys. 

I mean COME ON! Everyone is happy, there are no rice crispies stuck to the ceiling or kids covered in butter...false advertising here people....

 

I just don’t get it – why a simple thing of melting marshmallows and butter and rolling it into balls can become such a complete fiasco for me.  My husband doesn’t get it either.  In fact, it is a constant source of amazement for him. 

After about 10 minutes of “holiday fun”, the boys were done.  Especially Nicholas, who had more rice crispies on his body than on his poor turkey.

Yep. This was fun to clean up.

  And Tristan’s turkey looked like it had been massacred.

rice crispy treats

Hmm. So they didn't quite turn out the way I envisioned...

I’ve said this before, but Thank God for my Sis-In-Law Audra.  She saved the day (and the remaining ooey gooey mixture ) and figured out how to make them resemble turkeys.  (If she wasn’t so darned sweet, I’d have to hate her).

However – it wasn’t a TOTAL loss.  Because thanks to my good friend Stacey Puckett (owner of Harvest Crate) gave me a HUGE (I”m talking suitcase here) crate of fresh produce to take to my family for Thanksgiving.  So that beyond made up for the rice crispie disaster. 

fresh produce gifts

Now THIS is good stuff. And impossible to screw up.

Harvest Crate is awesome.  If you are needing produce for the holidays, a gift for a family or office – this is a great option.  Everything is fresh from the farm and packaged for you – just order online and they will take care of the rest.  Even deliver it to your doorstep (FREE delivery in the Tulsa area)!  Prices start at $33.

 

SIDEBAR:  Moms!  If you are looking for a new fundraiser for your school – here you go!  Harvest Crate does fundraisers!  And who wouldn’t want to buy some fresh fruit instead of wrapping paper, candles and knick-knacks that you will never use?  Just visit the website or email my friend Stacy for more details.

And bonus for all of you that are still reading…:)  I am giving away a Harvest Crate on my blog!  Just leave a comment by Wed. Dec. 7 and we’ll pick a winner.  And ship it to you just in time for the holidays!

(I’ll even throw in some of my rice crispie turkeys!)  Just kidding.

20 thoughts on “The Rice Crispie Treat Massacre (And Fresh Produce Giveaway from Harvest Crate!)

  1. Marnie – great to meet you and Josie at Fox too! Like the Rice Crispie treat story – what you need is a food stylist with props. Those photos of the Crispie Turkeys? They’re not made of food. It they are it’s shellacked. Hardly any magazine food is real – that’s why it looks so good! Sallie

  2. I always have a smile on my face when I read ur blog! Even tho it’s been forever since we’ve talked I feel like I’m right there with u!
    Need to talk about our early spring trip with Carrie!

    • Charla, you are so way better than me. You need to live closer so I can just have you do all my baking for me. 🙂 And I did have a photo of the turkey – it is on the blog. It just doesn’t resemble anything close to a turkey…that’s why you didn’t realize it. 🙂

  3. Marnie one of these days you will learn 2 things- one, don’t read better homes and gardens it just makes you feel like a crappy mom- stick with us weekly. Second, outsource baking to bakers! It’s SO worth it and truly no one will remember!

  4. That is hysterical! It reminds me of the time we decided to make a gingerbread house…which looked more like a post-demolition building! Ha!

Leave a Reply

