Fernandez Family Vacay. Goats, Chipmunks and Other Wildlife Known as Children.

I’m cutting myself a bit of slack here because I’m DOG TIRED.

School started last week and I have four kids in four different schools in three different towns.   Enough said.  Our family alone is causing a fossil fuel crisis. 

So instead of some cleverly written post (I have no brain cells left at this point), I’m just gonna post pics from our vacay to Colorado.  (Yes, I know we got back three weeks ago.  Give me a freaking break). 

Nanny and the Wild Animals Known as the Grandkids. On top of the Continental Divide.

However, not all is lost – I do have a giveaway!  This one is in honor of my nausea -free road trip.  This is huge people, I get carsick just by opening my eyes.  PSI Bands are the bomb.  Not only do they help motion/car sickness – they are great for morning sickness too. (Oh WHY didn’t I know about these things when I was pregnant??)

Anyway – just comment on my blog by Friday, Aug. 26 for a chance to win your own PSI Bands.  They are amazing.  Just put the cute little bands on your wrist…and viola!  You will feel much better.

Now – back to the vacay. 

Here’s a goody from our “Super Fun Family Hike”.   Where everyone got along and had a great time…(note sarcasm in my voice…). 

I’m thinking this should make the Christmas Card for sure.

Then there was our trip to the Jumping Good Goat Farm.  I’ll let your imaginations run wild with this one.

So if my writing gig doesn’t pan out – I now have a fallback. It’s harder than it looks, people.

Nicholas developed quite an affinity for the goats.  I’m thinking his dad should get him one for Christmas.

family vacation
“Mom! Can we keep him?” Ummm. That would be a no. A Hell No.

Tristan, on the other hand, was not impressed.

That would be Tristan.  SHirt over his head to avoid the smell.  Tip-toeing through the dirt to avoid the poop.  A farmer he would not make. 
 
Next, we went to St. Elmo’s (a cute little ghost town in the middle of freaking nowhere) to feed chipmunks.

Here chipmunk, chimpmunk...

Have I mentioned that Tristan is not an animal lover?

family vacation

Poor guy.

Josie apparently didn’t get it.

family vacation

No -no, Josie - FEED the chipmunk.

Family Fun Nights included games of Twister…

family games
Note: It is helpful to know your Right from Left if you are going to be successful at this game. Oh – and the flexibility of a rubber band is a nice bonus too.

You know you’ve had a good day when it ends like this.

family vacation

Seriously? My neck hurts just looking at this picture.

 The Water Park at Mount Princeton Hot Springs was a huge hit…

family vacation

Can't really tell, but we think this is one of ours...

family vacation
The only time when a pot belly and cellulite is considered adorable…
 

My dad’s cousin came to visit us at the cabin.  Her name is Gwen.  And she is awesome.  I hope I am half that awesome when I am her age.  She is the only one I know that can get all the grandkids to help cook dinner.  Seriously.  And I have proof.

family vacation
See, I wasn’t lying. Jade and Nicholas are SHELLING BEANS. We need a Gwen at our house.

 And my father – (bless his heart) kept trying to make a fisherman out of our “I’m Allergic to the Outdoors” son.

family vacation
Give it up, DadDad…
All in all – it was a successful vacay.  Other than an incident that involved petty theft and a trip to the police station…there were no major catastrophes. 
 
Maybe we are getting this travel thing down.  Finally.
 
Now if we could just do something about this.
family vacation

The Terrible Twos have kicked in. Eight months early. Joy.:)

 
 
This entry was posted in Manic Musings and tagged , , by marniefernandez. Bookmark the permalink.

About marniefernandez

Official kid wrangler of four. Step mom, adoptive mom & bio mom. City girl turned country bumpkin. Small town girl next door married to Hollywood sniper/moto-cross/ninja architect. Career girl turned stay-at-home mom with baby on hip. Permanent taxi-cab driver, schedule organizer and professional laundress. (When not chasing kids...) Mommy blogger, columnist, travel writer and consultant. And no, I don't sleep. And yes, I take Prozac. And drink wine from sippy cups.

7 thoughts on “Fernandez Family Vacay. Goats, Chipmunks and Other Wildlife Known as Children.

  1. Good info about the bands!! I have an 8 year old that gets car sick. Your blogs crack me up every time, and makes me a little less whiny about my ONE pick up line every day at school.

  2. Marnie, I am a friend of your mom’s. I was in CO visiting your parents after your wedding. I too get car sick and was so sick that my driver had to stop twice for me. I thought we would never get to the cabin, so I could GET OUT OF THAT VAN!! I wish that I had known about the Psi Bands. Jean

Leave a Reply

