Camp. My Summer Love.

I’m having a mid-life crisis. 

First of all, how the heck did I get to mid-life already??

No worries people, I’m not going to run off and get a tattoo or go skydiving naked – but I am really missing being a kid in the summertime.

Especially when it comes to camp. 

I am a camp freak – I grew up going to all kinds of camps – and after each one I would come home in tears because each one was the best time of my life and those were the best friends I would ever have and I would cry for days and days and write letters to all my friends and lock myself in my room. 

My parents loved it when I came home from camp.

Now my kids are all at camp.  And I must say it bringsback  pains of nostalgia and I must admit – a pang of jealousy. 

My three oldest spent last week at Camp Loughridge– an amazing Christian camp in Tulsa, Oklahoma.  I know you’ve heard me sing their praises before – but guys – this camp is amazing.  I wish I had gone to Camp Loughridge when I was a kid.  You can’t help but just feel the love while you are out there…just stepping foot on their beautiful grounds makes me want to burst out into a rousing round of  Kum Ba Yah.

But I’ll spare you.

Kids Summer Camp

Morning Rally at Camp Loughridge

So – I decided to get some of my camp fix and follow my kids around Camp Loughridge for a day.  Much to their chagrin I might add.

I tried to be incognito – but it was a little hard with a baby in a stroller. 

Kids Summer Camp

Baby J and Baby Justice - Future Campers

Especially when the baby cried.  Really loud.

Kids Summer Camp

Well, maybe not.

So each kiddo was in a different tribe.  Nicholas was a Choctaw.

Kids Summer Camp

Nic and his fellow Choctaws

Tristan was a Seminole.

Kids Summer Camp

Tristan with his awesome counselor John

 

Jade was an Esther. (she was in the adventure camp for older kids – she even got to spend the night!).

Kids Summer Camp

Jade and "her girls"

The kids all meet together in the morning for rally then break off into their respective tribes.  Each tribe has one to two counselors for each group so no worries about kiddos wondering off.

Kids SUmmer camp

Yes, that is Tristan's sniper hat. Courtesy of his father.

They get to do all sorts of cool things like archery,

Kids Summer Camp

Nicholas was in weapon heaven

swim every day in their amazing pool,

Summer Camp for Kids

Camp Loughridge's Olympic Size Swimming Pool

field games,

Summer Camp

Tristan and crew playing kickball

ropes course,

Ropes Course at Camp Loughridge

Part of the Ropes Course - Rock Climbing Wall

the famous 50 foot rope swing – (for more awesome photos of the ropes course and zip line – click here)

Rope Swing at Camp Loughridge

Jade conquers her fears!

and so much more.

Every day I picked up the kiddos they were WORN OUT and asleep in the car before we even got home. 

Summertime with kids

Even Baby J was exhausted from just watching.

And they couldn’t wait to go back to camp the next day.  (Sidebar:  my kiddos LOVED the food.  Even my picky eater.  This is HUGE, people…). 

Isn’t that every parent’s dream?  (Or is that just mine.)

In fact – I’m thinking about applying for a counselor job there next summer.  I think Baby J and I would do a great job…we may be hitting you all up for references. 

So parents – if you are going nuts trying to figure out what to do with the kids for the rest of the summer – I’ve got good news.  Camp Loughridge has openings in their last few sessions!  Check here for the rest of their schedule…

My kids are already asking when they can go back.  I’m on that like a bee on honey.

Summertime at Camp

Proud Papa with crew at Camp Loughridge Closing Ceremony

This entry was posted in Manic Musings and tagged , , by marniefernandez. Bookmark the permalink.

About marniefernandez

Official kid wrangler of four. Step mom, adoptive mom & bio mom. City girl turned country bumpkin. Small town girl next door married to Hollywood sniper/moto-cross/ninja architect. Career girl turned stay-at-home mom with baby on hip. Permanent taxi-cab driver, schedule organizer and professional laundress. (When not chasing kids...) Mommy blogger, columnist, travel writer and consultant. And no, I don't sleep. And yes, I take Prozac. And drink wine from sippy cups.

4 thoughts on “Camp. My Summer Love.

  1. Marnie, I was (and am) a camp freak too! My best summer memories are of camp! Wish you were going to camp with Shannon Bird and me in two weeks. Glam-camping! I can’t wait! Mountain air, fishing, archery, horseback riding, camping under the stars…I will make you a friendship bracelet while we are there 🙂

  2. Loved it dear Marnie! I was the same way about camps!! SO glad this was available for all your various TRIBES!! You must be looking forward to spending time in our fabulous state soon!!! YES! I am in Salida now, till this Sat. Then, I will return later in July to hook up with your folks. I think that I will miss you all this time, as I have obligations back in Denver during your time here. Have fun!!!!

    Love you!

    Carolyn

Leave a Reply

