Prank Calls, Undies and other Oddities which are my life.

OMG. I accidentally prank called my hubby’s high school friend. That lives in L.A. At 3 a.m. Yikes – how do you explain that one?

I have insomnia. Big time. And it sucks.


(the reasons for my insomnia…)

So I usually spend the hours between 2 a.m. and 4 a.m. watching reruns of Law and Order or going through Facebook on my iPhone. Last night the iPhone won. So I saw a post from one of Shane’s friends from High School (who mind you, I’ve never met). It was about shoes or something like that so I clicked on his page to see what it was all about.

And I really don’t know how it happened…but all of a sudden my phone started dialing his number. At 3 a.m.! And my hubby is sound asleep next to me. I panic and start trying to hit the “end” button as fast as I could and the dang thing kept ringing. Seriously. Then I am trying to get back to my facebook page and I dialed him again! So I’m basically prank calling this dude whom I’ve never met at 3 a.m. And have no idea how I’m going to explain this to my hubby, when this guy calls back and figures out it is me. I mean really, how do you explain that?

Actually, my hubby reading this post will be his explanation, because I haven’t told him yet. Wish me luck people.

And this would also be the week that my neighbor saw me naked. Well, not really naked, but I was in my undies strutting around with Baby J. (first, let me explain that my sweet neighbor comes over and lets out our dogs when we aren’t home…but for some reason he didn’t see my car??) (and secondly, I normally don’t “strut” around my house in my skivvies, but was getting my jeans out of the dryer…promise).


(“Mommy! The neighbor is coming!” My “watchdogs”…and no, I am not going to post a pic of me in my undies…sorry.)

And he is just not a neighbor, he is Jade and Tristan’s GRANDPA. Yes people, the ex in-laws live next door. Does this seem weird to anyone else? Yes, not only do we live on a pecan orchard outside of town (Camp Tough Love as my husband calls it)…the ex in-laws live on the orchard as well. We are just one big happy extended family (Nicholas even frequents their house to beg for cookies). But still, not that I want my “extended family” seeing me in my undies. I don’t even want my hubby to see me in them…but that’s a whole ‘nother post about my insecurity issues…

Yes, Shane bought this property B.M. (before Marnie, not bowel movement). So not only did the ex wife live in this house…but her parents bought the guest house next door. And our house is haunted. And we have a MOTOCROSS track in our backyard. Let me tell you – it has taken me some time to get used to all the dynamics…let alone the fact that our closest grocery store is a Quik Trip.


(Camp Tough Love in the snow…)

So honey, if you are reading this and you get a strange call from your friend (who shall remain nameless because I can’t remember his name)…please know that it was just an accident. Cross My Heart.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by marniefernandez. Bookmark the permalink.

About marniefernandez

Official kid wrangler of four. Step mom, adoptive mom & bio mom. City girl turned country bumpkin. Small town girl next door married to Hollywood sniper/moto-cross/ninja architect. Career girl turned stay-at-home mom with baby on hip. Permanent taxi-cab driver, schedule organizer and professional laundress. (When not chasing kids...) Mommy blogger, columnist, travel writer and consultant. And no, I don't sleep. And yes, I take Prozac. And drink wine from sippy cups.

2 thoughts on “Prank Calls, Undies and other Oddities which are my life.

  1. Hysterical, as usual! A teenage neighbor of mine saw me one time in my towel (Thank goodness I put on a towel). My three year old had let him in the door when I was in the shower (years ago). It was 6:45 in the morning and we were giving him a ride somewhere at 7:30. He was early…WAY early and was sitting on my couch when I “strutted” through the house….poor 6th grader will never be the same. Had a looooong conversation with Ashton that I am sure she doesn’t remember, about not answering the door without me! With as many kids as you have..this will probably not be the last of your awkward moments…I’m just sayin’

Leave a Reply

