Camp Tough Love: Where Showering is Optional

Not sure which is dirtier, my hair or my car.


(yes, my son is very dirty too…)

 Probably should wash both STAT.  But the logistics of this happening anytime in my near future are looking pretty slim.

  In fact, the last shower I had where I actually got to wash my hair (a rare occurence that happens maybe once a week if I’m lucky), resulted in no hot water (I forgot I had the shower running while getting my brood ready for school…oops and dang it!), and a screaming baby pressed against the outside of the shower glass for the entirety of my shower.  Good times. 

I was so agitated that I sliced my leg open with my razor and forgot to rinse the conditioner out of my hair.  I was one big bloody gooey mess, but hey, Baby J got what she wanted.  Back on her mama’s hip (AT ALL TIMES…*sigh*). 

And my car?  I am pretty sure the CDC is on their way to confiscate it.  Think hazardous waste dump.  And I wonder why my kids have been sick.  I cannot even stand to get in it anymore.  You know it’s bad when your four-year old nephew who is prone to be a bit on the messy side, tells you your car is really dirty and why don’t you clean it Aunt Marnie?  Sure Ryan, let me get right on that.

I’ve done several “drive bys” (girls, remember the drive by days? )…yes, my friends, I have hit a new low. I am now stalking car washes.  This is a sad state of affairs.  I drive by every car wash in Tulsa county to see if there is a line.  Because you know what is worse than a dirty car?  Waiting in line with four kids to get it washed.  Believe you me…I’d rather get a root canal. 

Since the blizzard, I am pretty sure every car in the state of Oklahoma has gone to get washed.  Because the lines are RIDICULOUS.   Not gonna do it.

So I will go on my merry way with dirty hair and a dirty car.  And while we are at it – a dirty house, dirty dogs, dirty laundry…and the list goes on…

Whoever said “a clean house is a sign of a wasted life”…also must have had four kids.   With all the dirt going on my life…I  must have a pretty damn fulfilling one. 

P.S.  Oh yeah!  Wallowing in my self pity I almost forgot to mention – yes, I have new site (thank you to my dear friend JJ)!  Same crazy stories…just a different address.   As soon as I can get my hair washed,  I’ll be working more on expanding my blog.  In the meantime – you can subscribe to my blog – just click on the “subscribe” button on the right.  And my misadventures will come straight to your inbox…aren’t you excited?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by marniefernandez. Bookmark the permalink.

About marniefernandez

Official kid wrangler of four. Step mom, adoptive mom & bio mom. City girl turned country bumpkin. Small town girl next door married to Hollywood sniper/moto-cross/ninja architect. Career girl turned stay-at-home mom with baby on hip. Permanent taxi-cab driver, schedule organizer and professional laundress. (When not chasing kids...) Mommy blogger, columnist, travel writer and consultant. And no, I don't sleep. And yes, I take Prozac. And drink wine from sippy cups.

2 thoughts on “Camp Tough Love: Where Showering is Optional

Leave a Reply

