To pee or not to pee…

Out of a moment of experiencing the freedom of a warm summer breeze or just pure laziness –we started letting the boys pee outside this summer. Yep. Not proud of this one. At first I thought it was cute; their little tiny bottoms shining in the sun while they did their business…now I’m afraid I’ve created a monster. That urinates a lot.

We live on an acreage in the country with no neighbors in sight, so I figured what the heck. My son pees more than a nine-month pregnant lady, so I thought it would be better for him to pee outside than to keep running in and out tracking dirt all over our house. We thought we were pretty clear on the rules: Only pee outside at our house and don’t pee in front of anyone except for your family.

Since laying down those rules my son has “whipped it out” a number of inopportune times and inappropriate places too numerous to count, so I’ll just name the highlights: an outdoor baby shower (my first clue was several little girls screaming in horror as they ran from the spray of pee); the Farmer’s Market in Salida Colorado (but mommy, I have to go NOW), FLIRT (omg, yes, the NICE dress shop in Utica Square- thank the LORD I knew the owner, but still wanted to die of embarrassment), the public swimming pool at Great Wolf Lodge (I got more looks from hell that day than in my entire life). Now he is into peeing wars with his step-brother and nephew – we caught them “fighting” with their streams of pee chasing each other around the backyard. Lovely and very hygienic I might add.

So, I am hoping his kindergarten teacher is not reading this – I still have a year to break my child of his “indecent exposure” habit… And any parents who have gone through this before – your advice is most welcome. I don’t want my child to have a record before he is out of Pre-K.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by marniefernandez. Bookmark the permalink.

About marniefernandez

Official kid wrangler of four. Step mom, adoptive mom & bio mom. City girl turned country bumpkin. Small town girl next door married to Hollywood sniper/moto-cross/ninja architect. Career girl turned stay-at-home mom with baby on hip. Permanent taxi-cab driver, schedule organizer and professional laundress. (When not chasing kids...) Mommy blogger, columnist, travel writer and consultant. And no, I don't sleep. And yes, I take Prozac. And drink wine from sippy cups.

Leave a Reply

