Say Cheese! (and quit picking your nose, hitting your brother and keep your shirt on please).

Fernandez-Family-3.jpg Few things stress me out more than a family photo session. I will obsess for days trying to figure out the best outfits for everyone. (have to be coordinated, but don’t want to be too matchy matchy). Then, trying to figure out the location (everyone does it at the park, will it rain, will they let us climb on top of that building, because that would be a super cool shot). And, will my children behave during the photo shoot? Well, of course they won’t, that would just make things too easy. And, will I break out in hives or some strange rash the morning of? Well, of course I will, it is Murphy’s Law. And then I never ever end up liking any of the pictures, no matter how much I plan and primp.

Then I met Nicole Kelley. Wife to the highly rated radio host Joe Kelley and photographer extraordinaire. Not to mention one of the nicest people I have ever met (Joe’s not too bad either). This lady can work magic and I am not exaggerating in the slightest. I’ve got proof too.

I’m pulling one from the vault here. It was last summer, right before we got married and before we even knew Baby J existed…we wanted a family photo to give my parents for their anniversary. The night before I innocently went to a play date that somehow turned into a late night happy hour (Missy, remember??), and well, we won’t go into all of that.

Needless to say, I woke up at 4 a.m.in a cold sweat because we had NOTHING ready for our 8 a.m. photo shoot. Had no clue what we were even going to wear. I am pulling clothes out of the dirty clothes and spraying them with febreze, then realize the kids nice shoes were at the other parents and all they have are flip flops. Then I also realize with horror that one of our boys has painted toenails (don’t ask). I’m waking everyone up, we are scrambling to get dressed in wrinkled clothes, kids are grumpy and of course, it is the hottest day of the summer thus far. Not to mention I have SERIOUS bags under my eyes and did not have time to wash my hair. This was so not looking good.

Shane got lost on the way to the photo shoot (I know honey, I gave you bad directions), and by the time we got there, we are hot, tired, hungover (well, mom was) and looked completely disheveled in our thrown together outfits with my son’s bright pink toenails.

But Nicole was not to be deterred. By the end of the shoot, we were all actually laughing and having a good time (she brought candy for the kids…how smart is that?). And despite our outfits and the heat, she somehow made us look like a million bucks. Seriously, that is magic…cuz I PROMISE you, we did not look this good in real life. Fernandez-Family-1.jpgFernandez-Family-2.jpg

If anyone needs a miracle worker for your family photos, Nicole is your girl. Even if you don’t live in Tulsa, she is worth the drive. Just don’t ask me for directions.

Check out Baby J’s six month photos! She’s pretty darn cute if I do say so myself…password: Marnie
http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fnkelley.photobiz.com%2Fcart…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by marniefernandez. Bookmark the permalink.

About marniefernandez

Official kid wrangler of four. Step mom, adoptive mom & bio mom. City girl turned country bumpkin. Small town girl next door married to Hollywood sniper/moto-cross/ninja architect. Career girl turned stay-at-home mom with baby on hip. Permanent taxi-cab driver, schedule organizer and professional laundress. (When not chasing kids...) Mommy blogger, columnist, travel writer and consultant. And no, I don't sleep. And yes, I take Prozac. And drink wine from sippy cups.

Leave a Reply

