Life with Baby J

So I’m nine weeks into life with my sweet Baby J. After a rough ride (three months of puking, one month on bed rest, twenty-eight hours of labor, two non-functional epidurals and lots of screaming in pain…you get the picture), Josie Marilyn Fernandez made her debut on March 9, 2010.

And all I have to say is Holy Cow, I am tired.

Actually, I have a lot more to say, but it is definitely much more difficult when juggling a family of six. There was no “rest” period or “down” time for mom and baby Josie to get used to each other and our new world…we both had to hit the ground running. No rest for the weary; car pools, school, kids activities, grocery shopping, laundry that has multiplied by a thousand (seriously, how can a seven pound human double your laundry??). Oh yeah, and in between, stopping wherever I can to breastfeed this child who if you have seen her in person, you can tell she likes to eat. A lot.

I love it when people ask me how I’m doing. Do they REALLY want to know? Because if I was being honest, I would answer, “Hmmm, well let’s see, I’m so tired I can barely stand, haven’t had a shower in days, can’t fit into any of my clothes, I’m completely hormonal and cry at the drop of a hat, my baby has more gas than a teenage boy and I smell like spit up. And how are you?” So as to not run the risk of people avoiding me like the plague, I just grin and say “Never better!” (My acting classes have come in quite handy).

Seriously though, I love my baby girl to pieces. I wouldn’t trade this for anything in the world, but come on now…we ALL know the newborn phase is as hard as heck. And anyone who begs to differ is either lying or has a live in-maid, nanny and personal assistant.

Then there is the witching hour (or HOURS in our case). And again, I know you all know what I am talking about…the screaming and crying for what seems like an eternity and can make you seriously crazy. If that doesn’t drive one to drink, then I don’t know what will. Sometimes, she cries so hard my five-year-old will scream, “It’s an emergency! Somebody call 911!” (He has a bit of a flair for the dramatic…). I know this is only a phase, but when you are in the weeds, it seems like freaking forever.

When we have all four kids, it is just nothing short of chaotic. I think the night the realization of having four kids hit us like a Mack Truck is when my son hurt his eye during Josie’s witching hour. So we have two screaming children, (my husband is sitting on my son to get eye drops in – seriously, you would have thought we were amputating a limb), another in the bathtub and another one who needs help with her homework. At the same time one of our dogs decides to get sick all over the floor. My husband and I look at each other with a bewildered look as to “how did we get here?” as I am seriously contemplating booking the next flight to the Bahamas…solo.

I am thinking by the time I get this parenthood juggling act down – all the kids will be out of the house and I will have absolutely no idea what to do with myself. Maybe I’ll open an in-home daycare. Ha! I crack myself up.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by marniefernandez. Bookmark the permalink.

About marniefernandez

Official kid wrangler of four. Step mom, adoptive mom & bio mom. City girl turned country bumpkin. Small town girl next door married to Hollywood sniper/moto-cross/ninja architect. Career girl turned stay-at-home mom with baby on hip. Permanent taxi-cab driver, schedule organizer and professional laundress. (When not chasing kids...) Mommy blogger, columnist, travel writer and consultant. And no, I don't sleep. And yes, I take Prozac. And drink wine from sippy cups.

Leave a Reply

