Information Overload

Ever since the glorious news of our unexpected bundle of joy; I have been absolutely beyond inundated with questions and advice from well intentioned friends, relatives (and complete strangers for that matter – who also seem to feel an innate need to pat my belly – do I have a sign that says “Please invade my personal space??”) But that’s another posting entirely.

Are you finding out the sex? What is your birth plan (We have to have a plan for this? Isn’t that what the Doc is for?) Are you banking your baby’s cord blood? (What? I don’t even know what that is?) You need to try this pregnancy pillow; you HAVE to buy this stretch mark cream; you need to try chewing on raw ginger and you won’t throw up (WHATEVER). Hey – I’m just trying to make it through each day without puking my brains out. My brain can’t handle the onslaught. Seriously.

What colors are you doing the nursery? You need to go to (insert name of expensive baby store here) for your fabrics, and you have to buy this glider or your baby will never sleep again. Holy Cow – nursery colors? We don’t even exactly have a ROOM for our little darling yet (hello, house remodel).

My dear sweet girlfriends have given me no less than 10 baby books on pregnancy and at least five novel size books on baby names. Really? Are there that many names available? I didn’t even get through the A’s without totally going cross-eyed. Aefentid? Is that really a name?

And the prenatal testing – oh my – that brings up another hot bed of controversy between all my friends. Are you getting an amnio? Yes, no, heck, I don’t know…Oh but you HAVE to have one especially at your age (Gee, thanks). Another friend: NO! You can do THIS test instead of inserting a two foot needle into your pregnant belly…(hmmm, this option sounds better to me?) Oh My Gosh – I am so freaking confused.

And baby gear? All this stuff that was non-existent five years ago when Nicholas was a baby, is now a MUST have or your child will not make it into Kindergarten without (insert latest gadget here).

Two words. Can’t deal. I’m more of a wing it girl (much to my hubby’s chagrin). I’ve decided to put away the baby books, quit reading the daily barrage of emails and just listen to what my doc has to say. No offense to anyone out there…I love you all (except for the random strangers that touch my belly). I winged it with my son (we had all of two weeks to prepare for his arrival) and he’s going into Kindergarten next year without any major mishaps. I think I will be okay without a designer nursery, tummy tub, wipe warmers and a detailed dissertation of a birth plan. And if I meet you on the street – please just don’t touch my belly

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by marniefernandez. Bookmark the permalink.

About marniefernandez

Official kid wrangler of four. Step mom, adoptive mom & bio mom. City girl turned country bumpkin. Small town girl next door married to Hollywood sniper/moto-cross/ninja architect. Career girl turned stay-at-home mom with baby on hip. Permanent taxi-cab driver, schedule organizer and professional laundress. (When not chasing kids...) Mommy blogger, columnist, travel writer and consultant. And no, I don't sleep. And yes, I take Prozac. And drink wine from sippy cups.

Leave a Reply

