I Need A Sick Day(s)

And guess freaking what? Moms don’t get one. That just stinks because I am feeling like absolute dog crap. (Not to mention I had to clean some up earlier today). Today is my hubby’s 40th birthday…HUGE deal and I’ve been planning a surprise party for him for six months. The party is TONIGHT. And we just got back from his surprise birthday trip to his hometown of Los Angeles (yes, I know I am a great wife). ANYWAY, I think in the midst of the Shanepooloza, I have gotten quite rundown.

And I have no choice but to muddle through. Oh…how I miss the days of having my mom make me special meals, let me watch TV in the middle of the day (this NEVER happened at our house), and get lots of TLC when I was under the weather. Not that my hubby doesn’t do a good job, but who is going to pick up kids, take care of a baby, take care of dogs, do the laundry and PLAN THIS FREAKING PARTY? Please just pass me some serious drugs.

OHHH. I have so much to do, but I am just going to lie down and complain as I type this. Because I don’t feel like doing any of it. My head is about to explode and I’ve got two hours before I have to put on my happy face and truck my happy a** to our fav restaurant Elote for Shane’s surprise party. Normally I’m all over this kind of stuff (just ask two of my former bosses, Kelley and Kristin – and no, Kristin, I did not get a stripper…) but now all I want to do is crawl in a hole and sleep for a week.

This is when I think cloning is a good idea. And over- the- counter narcotics (kidding…kinda).

Wish me luck people…I need it.

P.S. So the party was a smashing success. I made it through the night… (with a little help from Excederin Migraine and Jose Cuervo). Now off to find my phone which somehow disappeared in the midst of the festivities…yikes.
DSC00248.JPG Shane, Marnie and Jose Cuervo.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by marniefernandez. Bookmark the permalink.

About marniefernandez

Official kid wrangler of four. Step mom, adoptive mom & bio mom. City girl turned country bumpkin. Small town girl next door married to Hollywood sniper/moto-cross/ninja architect. Career girl turned stay-at-home mom with baby on hip. Permanent taxi-cab driver, schedule organizer and professional laundress. (When not chasing kids...) Mommy blogger, columnist, travel writer and consultant. And no, I don't sleep. And yes, I take Prozac. And drink wine from sippy cups.

Leave a Reply

