“Excuse me, I have seem to have lost my mind…”

Keys in the freezer, shoes on the wrong feet, losing checks, forgetting to put on underwear…those are already daily occurrences in the Fernandez household BEFORE I got pregnant. Not even kidding, just ask anyone who has known me for more than a day. Now you add on the “pregnancy brain” it becomes a matter of survival for our entire family. My husband is worried, very worried.

Of course it wouldn’t be the fact that I left the oven on all day and almost burned down the house; or the time I rushed to get the dogs to the vet only to realize when I pulled up to their offices that I had forgotten the dogs. Or that the ONE time I took out my husband’s brand new car and somehow dented the front bumper without my knowledge? (honestly, I have NO idea how that dent got there!) Doesn’t this happen to everyone? My husband’s not buying it. Ugh – and I’m only half way through the pregnancy.

Thank goodness for my oh-so-observant stepdaughter. She doesn’t miss a thing. Like when I pass our exit (umm…excuse me Marnie, you missed our turn? Oh – thanks Jade, I was just taking the scenic route). Or when I forget to buckle in my son in his car seat (don’t worry Marnie – I buckled in Nicholas). She also keeps me on my toes at home. (Marnie, I smell something burning? Marnie, there is toilet paper sticking out of your pants and you are still wearing your slippers…or Marnie, you forgot to turn off the bathwater. Oh thanks Jade – just thought I would wash the floors while I was at it). If it wasn’t for her, our house would be burned down and/or flooded and I would be parading around town in slippers like a homeless person with toilet paper sticking out of my hiney.

I am really hoping this is just a temporary sign of pregnancy – or Shane is going to have to hire a home healthcare worker to take care of me. Now I have used all my brain power to write this blog – I must go take a nap. I miss my brain cells. Hope this means the baby is going to be super smart.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by marniefernandez. Bookmark the permalink.

About marniefernandez

Official kid wrangler of four. Step mom, adoptive mom & bio mom. City girl turned country bumpkin. Small town girl next door married to Hollywood sniper/moto-cross/ninja architect. Career girl turned stay-at-home mom with baby on hip. Permanent taxi-cab driver, schedule organizer and professional laundress. (When not chasing kids...) Mommy blogger, columnist, travel writer and consultant. And no, I don't sleep. And yes, I take Prozac. And drink wine from sippy cups.

Leave a Reply

