Back to the Grind…

So, after three weeks of vacation, reunions, girls weekend, and oh yeah, a small event called a WEDDING, I am back to the real world. Which in my case is endless loads of laundry. Wait, didn’t I just do endless loads of laundry before I left? Does it ever stop??? (Seriously, I cannot cannot imagine the days before washing machines. I think my family would just be really really dirty).

I am anxiously awaiting my wedding pictures ( I get them today!) – so I can relive those perfect days again. Honestly, besides six bee stings, children throwing up (yes plural), almost losing Shane’s ring, my wedding cake collapsing and the donut debacle (that’s another story) – it was seriously a perfect week.

Weather was beautiful, closest friends and family were there and even my renegade four-year-old was relatively well behaved and walked me down the aisle (my friends had ongoing bets on whether or not that would actually happen). However, in the middle of my vows that I had spent WEEKS writing, my son did manage to scream at the top of his lungs “MOMMY! THERE IS AN ANT ON YOUR DRESS!!” as he swung to get it with several sticks (where he found sticks I still have no idea). In his defense, it was the biggest ant I had ever seen and even had the front row guests a little concerned.

But all in all it was a very special day and the start of our new life as a family of five. I tried my darndest to soak it all in, but I know I will forget lots of details (since I have a difficult time remembering what I ate an hour ago). But hopefully that feeling will stay with me for years to come. Too bad I don’t get that same feeling about the laundry.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by marniefernandez. Bookmark the permalink.

About marniefernandez

Official kid wrangler of four. Step mom, adoptive mom & bio mom. City girl turned country bumpkin. Small town girl next door married to Hollywood sniper/moto-cross/ninja architect. Career girl turned stay-at-home mom with baby on hip. Permanent taxi-cab driver, schedule organizer and professional laundress. (When not chasing kids...) Mommy blogger, columnist, travel writer and consultant. And no, I don't sleep. And yes, I take Prozac. And drink wine from sippy cups.

Leave a Reply

